Medway Clinical Commissioning Group has a governing body made up of local GPs, a registered nurse and several lay members, all working with a network of health professionals across the area.

Individual members of the governing body bring different perspectives, drawn from their different professions, roles, background and experience. These differing insights into the range of challenges and opportunities facing the CCG will, together, ensure that the CCG takes a balanced view across the whole of its business.

The members of the governing body are key appointments for the CCG. All governing body members have been subjected to a competitive recruitment and selection process, ensuring that each member meets the essential requirements of the role. Our GP clinical members have been elected by member practices to ensure that they have the necessary mandate to act on behalf of member practices.  All members are required to demonstrate that they have the leadership skills necessary to fulfil the responsibilities of their role and be able to establish credibility with all stakeholders and partners.

To find out more about the roles and responsibilities of CCG governing body members, visit the NHS England website.

The overarching role of the governing body is to ensure that the CCG has appropriate arrangements in place to exercise its functions effectively, efficiently and economically and in accordance with generally accepted principles of good governance and the constitution of the CCG.

Ian is Managing Director for Dartford, Gravesham and Swanley; Medway; Swale; and West Kent clinical commissioning groups. Prior to March 2018 Ian was Accountable Officer for NHS West Kent Clinical Commissioning Group.

Glenn was appointed accountable officer across all eight clinical commissioning groups in March 2018. He is also chief executive of the Kent and Medway Sustainability and Transformation Partnership.

Simon Perks is Deputy Managing Director for four NHS Clinical Commissioning Groups in Kent and Medway.  Prior to this he was Canterbury and Coastal and Ashford Clinical Commissioning Group’s Accountable Officer, leading these organisations for five years.

Stuart Jeffery, the CCG’s Chief Operating Officer, has worked for the NHS in North Kent since 1992 initially as a clinician and then as a manager. Prior to Medway CCG he was on the Board of Dartford and Gravesham NHS Trust as their Director of Performance.

Sati is a GP Partner, GP Trainer and an appraiser at Reach Healthcare in Chatham, Kent. In addition she is the Named GP for Safeguarding Children in Medway and an elected CCG Governing Board Member.

Dr Mike Beckett represents secondary (hospital) care on NHS Medway Clinical Commissioning Group’s Governing Body.

Having gained considerable experience in third world medicine after having qualified in Zimbabwe.

Antonia has lived and worked in Medway for 6 years and is a salaried GP at The Thorndike Surgery, Rochester.

Nicola is a Registered Pharmacist who has over 20 years clinical experience. Most recently she has worked within the Patient Participation Groups and this is the area which she is working hard to develop.

David Lewis, the Lay Member for Governance and Chair of Medway CCG’s Audit Committee and the Conflict off Interest Guardian has wide experience in Public Sector finance.

Katherine is a Registered General and Mental Health Nurse who has over 33 years clinical experience.

Pete has been a GP at the Parks Medical Practice in Cliffe Woods for more than 20 years. He continues to work as a GP one day a week which he sees as essential in helping him keep in touch with what’s happening from a patient’s perspective.

Sarah has many years of experience of working in the NHS, having started her career by training as a registered General Nurse in the 1980’s at Medway Hospital.

Sharif is a GP at Highcliffe Medical Practice, working the equivalent of 3 days a week, dedicating the rest of his working week as a Clinical Member of the Governing Body.